Section of Nanotube
About the study
Final report
Government response
How the study worked
What's happening now
Chair & working group
Press & media coverage
Contact us
Useful links
Nanotechnology and Nanoscience The Royal Society

Who worked on the study?

Chair of the Study
Prof Ann Dowling FREng FRS - Prof Dowling is Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Cambridge and chaired the study. Prof Dowling is a Fellow of both the Royal Society and the Royal Academy of Engineering. She is a scientist and an engineer but does not work directly on nanotechnology, so came to the project with an open mind and ensured that the concerns of all stakeholders were taken into account throughout the study.

Working group

Prof Roland Clift OBE FREng - Prof Clift is Director of the Centre for Environmental Strategy at the University of Surrey and a member of the Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution. He is a chemical engineer by training with expertise in Life Cycle Assessment (the understanding of the environmental impact of processes and products from their inception to their final disposal)

Dr Nicole Grobert - Dr Grobert is a Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow based at the University of Oxford. She is a chemist working on the synthesis and modification of nanotubes.

Dame Deirdre Hutton CBE - Deirdre Hutton is Chair of the National Consumer Council and a key advocate of and expert on consumer concerns.

Prof Ray Oliver FREng - Prof Oliver is a Senior Science and Technology Associate, in the Strategic Technology Group at ICI plc. He has expertise in the applications of nanotechnology in industry.

Baroness Onora O’Neill CBE FBA FMedSci - Baroness O’Neill is based at Newnham College, University of Cambridge. Baroness O’Neill is an expert in political philosophy and bioethics. She gave the BBC Reith Lectures in 2002.

Prof John Pethica FRS - Prof Pethica is based at Trinity College, Dublin. Professor Pethica’s work investigates the surface and nanometer scale properties of materials.

Prof Nick Pidgeon - Prof Pidgeon is Director of the Centre for Environmental Risk at the University of East Anglia. His research looks at risk management, the psychology of risk perception and communication, public preferences and risk valuation.

Sir Jonathon Porritt CBE - Sir Jonathon is Co-Founder and Programme Director of Forum for the Future and Chairman of the UK Sustainable Development Commission. He is a leading writer, broadcaster and commentator on sustainable development and environmental issues.

Prof John Ryan - Prof Ryan is based at the University of Oxford and leads the Interdisciplinary Research Collaboration on Bionanotechnology.

Prof Anthony Seaton CBE FMedSci - Prof Seaton holds a chair of environmental and occupational medicine in Aberdeen University. His research concerns the interactions of the environment and human health, and he has an interest in nanoparticulate air pollution. He was Chair of the Government's Expert Panel on Air Quality Standards from 1991-2002

Prof Saul Tendler - Prof Tendler is based at the University of Nottingham. He is an expert in pharmaceutical chemistry and his research interests are directed at investigations of molecular systems and their interactions

Prof Mark Welland FREng FRS - Prof Mark Welland is Head of the Nanoscale Science Laboratory in the Department of Engineering at the University of Cambridge. He is Director of the recently formed Interdisplinary Research Collaboration in Nanotechnology.

Prof Roger Whatmore FREng - Prof Whatmore is Head of the Advanced Materials Department, Director of Nanotechnology and Professor of Engineering Nanotechnology at Cranfield University. He is exploring applications of ferroelectric materials in microsystems and nanotechnology.

© Copyright: The Royal Academy of Engineering
The Royal Society 2003
The Royal Academy of Engineering